HomeAbout MeMy GenealogySharon Penman fanpageFavorite LinksLoverboyThe Copes Family BibleContact Me
My name is Chuck Wolfram.
 
I live in Southern New Jersey, and have my entire life.  Specifically in the southern part of Atlantic County.  And one very important thing to begin with.  There is a law professor in New York City who happens to have my name.  I am NOT him.  I have never met him.
 
I went to college at what was then Trenton State College and is today The College of New JerseyWord of warning: The links on this page will open in a new window.  It's in Ewing Township, New Jersey, a suburb of Trenton.  I studied history, political science and English.

My interests are history, genealogy and religion.  I prefer midieval history, early American history (pre Civil War) and Ancient Roman history---in that order. I'm researching my family history (read more about it here), and have proved some of my genealogical lines back to the 17th century. There are others who have taken some of my lines back to the 15th century.  The line that I proved is my Grandmother Wolfram's ancestry---her parents were Danes, and the churchbooks and censuses from Denmark allow you to trace almost anybody back several centuries.  Those resources are now on-line.  There are occasional problems with it---in one case I have the marriage and death records for one of my several times great-grandmothers; the records refer where the bapitsmal record can be found.  It's not there.   

I'm active in the Democratic Party.  I am now without office although I was a vice-president of the Democratic Party of Northfield; I was also for many years the recording secretary.  I'm also a member of the County Committee, and I have long suspected that I might be the most conservative, and the least political, member of that body.  I do not attend every meeting of either organization, far from it----you could say I attend the occasional meeting.
 
I mentioned religion earlier on this page.  I'm a life-long Methodist, and active in the church.  I'm interested in the theologies of the three great monothesic religions, and especially Christianity, specifically of the catholic and main steam Protestant variety.  The church I belong to is Central United Methodist Church of Linwood, New Jersey, an excellent community of faith to which my grandparents first joined some 85 years ago.  Among other things I'm the church historian and I'm on th board of directors for the church cemetery.  I also belong to, and have for the past eight years, the Annual Conference.  For me that happens  to be the Greater New Jersey Annual Conference; it covers the entire state of New Jersey and includes about 30 some churches in souther New York state and several churches in northeast Pennsylvania.  The conference meets annually at the end of May/beginning of June and it conducts the business of the Methodist church in that area, including ordaining the clergy.   

london1986.jpg

Me in London, in front of an underground station, 1986

What a job!

I might describe my job in a little more detail here. I'll write about what I do, what I like best about it, and even some of the frustrations. (A job with frustrations? Hard to believe, huh?)



Favorites

Favorite Sports teams:
  • The New England Patriots
  • The New York Giants
  • The Atlanta Braves

Favorite Author:
           Sharon Kay Penman
 
Favorite Playwright:   
          William Shakespeare
 
Music that I like:
          Classical, especially JS Bach, Handel and Mozart.  Also the Beatles.