The Emmart-Pierpont Safe House on the Underground Railroad

Home
Blank page
Tours Welcome
Lectures Available Off Site
Lectures Available Off Site
Presentations by Appointment
Come Feel the History
Events
Web Albums-Past Events
Supporters

Jeff & Shirley Supik, Stationmasters, Welcome You!
 
     In  July  2006 The Emmart-Pierpont Safe House became a  Baltimore County Landmark ensuring that the history will continue and the legacy endure. The path has not always been easy, but isn't that what a safe house is all about?
 

The first recorded history of this house was in 1806, when it was used as a church in the home of  Michael and Nancy Emmart.

lBrick001.jpg

This house was moved two times to preserve the history, finally coming to rest at its present location in April of 1893.

Caleb and Susanna Emmart donated the land to build
Emmart"s Church in 1855.  Caleb and  family  members
physically built the church by 1856 and it too was used
to hide freedom seekers.

Hidden in plain sight under a leafy canopy, in a small community  called Rockdale in Baltimore County, Maryland,  rests a humble house with a rich history.      

A STATION ON THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD!                    

      Built in 1791, it still stands as a testament to the tenacity and courage of the human spirit; from the freedom seekers who faced the unknown to those who stood up to do the right thing . This safe house has a unique distinction from others in that  the Emmart family used a "Brick" with a raised icon to identify it as a safe haven for runaways. Because the house stayed in the family until 1980 when the Supiks purchased it, the "Brick" is safe and a tangible link to our past.

 

 

 

What was once a secret, the UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, and its great works spoken in a whisper, must now be shouted! It is a part of history that shows great courage, hunanity and hope for a better tomorrow. The Supiks hope that when you see the symbol that is on the brick, it will remind you that people of diverse cultures even in the worst of times, can come together for the good of all.

 The Supiks will continue to preserve the history of the Emmart-Pierpont Safe House, the freedom seekers and the Underground Railroad.
 

In January 2006, Shirley Supik was the recipient of the prestigious Martin Luther King "Content of Character Award" presented by County Executive, Jim Smith for  Baltimore County.

The Emmart-Pierpont Safe House 
3523 North Rolling Road
Rockdale, Maryland 21244  
Phone/Fax: 410-655-7821

http://mysite.verizon.net/epsafehousesupik/

This is a picture of the actual brick in the basement of the Safe House used by the freedom seekers. When they felt the raised symbol in the dark, they knew they had reached a safe haven.

lBrick003.jpg

The stationmasters provided food, rest, protection and direction. Some worked with conductors to help move freedom seekers out of harm's way to the next location. Caleb Emmart worked with conductor, Nicholas Smith, his brother-in-law. Smith made barrels and used them to hide runaways while transporting them to the next station.  Smith married Caleb's wife's sister and the four of them worked diligently for the freedom of slaves. The two sisters, Elizabeth and Susanna Zimmerman, raised money to buy the freedom of Worthington Slaves. Rezin Worthington was a large slave holder in the area and we believe most of our freedom seekers came from his farm.

PASS ON A LEGEND-----KNOWLEDGE IS STRENGTH>

Questions?      Comments?
              Contact us at epsafehousesupik@verizon.net