Apostolic Succession in the Roman Catholic Church
The Episcopal Lineage of Blessed Pope Pius IX and of Pope Pius VIII
La Genealogia Episcopal del Santo Padre Francisco
UGCC Episcopal Lineage
Pope Eugene IV
Pope Nicholas V
Pope Leo XI
The Ravizza Line
A Maronite Lineage
Pope Pius III Lineage
Pope Julius III
Pope Hadrian VI Lineage
Pope Gregory XIV Lineage
Pope Sixtus V Lineage
Pope Pius IV Lineage
Pope Urban VII Lineage
Pope Marcellus II & Pope Paul IV Lineage
Missing papal lineages
Pope Innocent XIII Lineage
Pope Clement XI Lineage
Pope Innocent XII Lineage
Pope Alexander VIII Lineage
Blessed Pope Innocent XI Lineage
Pope Clement X Lineage
Pope Clement IX Lineage
Pope Alexander VII Lineage
d'Estouteville Lineage
Roman-rite bishops belonging to Eastern lines
Pope Gregory XVI lineage
Pope Innocent X Lineage
Pope Gregory XV Lineage
Pope Pius VII Lineage
Pope Pius VI lineage
Pope Clement XIV Lineage
Pope Clement XII Lineage
Pope Leo XIII Episcopal Lineage
Blessed Pope Pius IX & Pope Pius VIII Lineage
von Bodman Lineage
de Bovet Lineage
Pope John Paul I Lineage
Popes Paul VI, Pius XII, Benedict XV, and St. Pius X
Blessed Pope John XXIII Lineage
Pope John Paul II Lineage
Pope Pius XI Lineage
Pope Benedict XVI Lineage

Episcopal lineages

The Episcopal Lineage of Blessed Pope Pius IX


Pope Pius VIII

Giovanni Maria Mastai Ferretti, the future Blessed Pope Pius IX, Archbishop of Spoleto. Consecrated 3 June 1827 in the Church of San Pietro in Vincoli, Rome, by Francesco Saverio Cardinal Castiglioni, Bishop of Frascati, assisted by Giacomo Sinibaldi, Titular Archbishop of Damietta and Antonio Piatti, Titular Archbishop of Trebisonda.

Francesco Saverio Castiglioni, the future Pope Pius VIII, Bishop of Montalto Marche. Consecrated 17 August 1800 in the Church of Saints Dominic and Sixtus, Rome, by Giuseppe Maria Cardinal Doria Pamphilj, assisted by Nicola Buschi, Bishop of Ferentino and Camillo Campanelli, Titular Archbishop of Athens.

Giuseppe Maria Doria Pamphilj, Titular Archbishop of Seleucia in Isauria. Consecrated 22 August 1773 in the Collegiate Church of San Ildefonso at the royal residence at La Granja (Segovia), Spain, by Ventura Cardinal de Córdoba Espinola y La Cerda, Titular Archbishop of Neocaesarea and Patriarch of the West Indies, assisted by Manuel Ferrer y Figueredo, Titular Archbishop of Edessa and Joaquín Eleta, Titular Archbishop of Thebes.

Ventura de Córdoba Espinola y La Cerda, Titular Archbishop of Neocaeserea. Consecrated 28 June 1761 in the Royal Church of San Jeronimo, Madrid, by Manuel Quintano Bonifaz, Titular Archbishop of Pharsalia and Inquisitor General for Spain, assisted by Manuel Murillo y Argáiz, Bishop of Segovia and Andrés Cano y Junquera, Titular Bishop of Arad.

Manuel Quintano Bonifaz, Titular Archbishop of Pharsalia. Consecrated 16 March 1749 in the Church of the Royal Convent of La Encarnación, Madrid, by Enrique Enriquez, Titular Archbishop of Nazianzus and Apostolic Nuncio to Spain, assisted by Juan Antonio Pérez de Arellano, Titular Bishop of Cassia and Andrés Núñez Monteagudo, Titular Bishop of Maxula.

Enrique Enriquez, Titular Archbishop of Nazianzus. Consecrated 29 December 1743 in Rome, in the Quirinal, in the Hall of the Holy Office, by His Holiness Pope Benedict XIV, assisted by Ferdinando Maria de Rossi, Titular Archbishop of Tarsus and Mattino Ignazio Caracciolo di Mattina, Titular Archbishop of Chalcedon.

Please see the episcopal lineage of Pope Benedict XVI for the remainder of the episcopal lineage of Blessed Pope Pius IX and Pope Pius VIII.

The Episcopal Lineage of Pope Benedict XVI

Additional episcopal lineages of popes will be added in the future.