Home | Final Standings | Round 6 | Round 5 | Round 4 | Round 3 | Round 2 | Round 1 | Errata/FAQ

We the People PBEM Tournament

Errata and Frequently Asked Questions

bunkerhill.gif
The Battle of Bunker Hill

2.1 Errata: Boston should be a Port.

6.2 The European War card says that if the French Alliance isn't in effect, the strategy cards are reshuffled. Does this include the discards also?

A. Any time a card calls for a reshuffling of the Strategy Deck, ALL cards (excluding those removed as a result of play) are reshuffled, including discards.

6.2 There are three cards: William Pitt Peace Talks, Hortelez et Cie, and the European War card that under certain conditions reshuffle the Strategy Card deck, can these cards be discarded and prevent the deck from being reshuffled?

A. The William Pitt and Hortelez et Cie cards must be played, not discarded, in order for any of their effects to occur, hence if they are discarded the deck is NOT reshuffled. On the other hand, the European War card may NOT be discarded and it always causes a reshuffling of the Strategy Card deck if the French Alliance has not yet occurred in the game.

6.2 Can the Nathan Hale, Jane McCrea, or the Thomas Paine event cards be used to convert a British PC marker into an American PC marker in a space containing an American General?

A. No, each of these cards states that the space may not contain a British piece. The presence of the American General doesn't change this fact.

6.2 Can the Declaration of Independence Special Event card be used to convert a British PC marker into an American PC marker in a space with an American General?

A. No, the card allows you to place American PC markers, if possible, not convert British ones.

6.2 When the Declaration of Independence Special Event is played is the American player required to play a PC marker if possible in each colony, or is it an option that he can exercise or not as he sees fit?

A. Yes, placement of a PC is required in every colony where there is an empty space available.

6.2 The European War card states, "two British units are removed". Who chooses which CUs are removed?

A. The person playing the card removes the two CU; hence if the British play it then they get to remove the ones they want, and if the Americans play the card, they choose.

6.2 If the European War card is played prior to the French Alliance, causing a reshuffling of the card deck, does it activate the various cards that require it to be played, such as the Don Bernardo Galvez card?

A. No, the only effect of the European War card being played prior to the French Alliance is to reshuffle the deck.

6.2 Can the Benedict Arnold card be played during the Strategy Phase, if no battle is occurring?

A. No, this card may be played prior to a battle only.

6.2 Can the Benedict Arnold card be played prior to a battle when Benedict Arnold isn't present?

A. Yes, the card doesn't require the presence of Benedict Arnold in order for the two additional Battle cards to be received. Regardless of whether Benedict Arnold is at the battle when the card is played or not he is still removed from play.

6.2 If the Benedict Arnold card is played and Benedict Arnold is the commanding American General, whether attacking or defending, when is he removed?

A. Benedict Arnold is removed the instant the card is played. He would not be used for determining, Retreat Before Combat, Battle Card totals, nor Counterattack.

6.2 Is the John Glover Marblehead Regiment card an activation card like a Minor Campaign card or is it played in conjunction with an Operations or Campaign card?

A: It is NOT an activation card that allows a General to move but is used in conjunction with an Operations or Campaign card to increase the movement of ONE General. In the case of a Minor or Major Campaign card only ONE of the two or three Generals moved would get the movement bonus.

6.2 Does Rochambeau get the American general special abilities of interception and retreat before combat?

A. Rochambeau, as stated, acts like an American General in EVERY way. Rochambeau gets the special abilities to intercept and retreat before combat. Additionally, the British get their Regulars bonus in combat against French forces since they are treated as American units in EVERY way.

6.2 The following "sequence of play" should be followed when the British player wishes to play Loyalist Guides:

1. The British player activates an army and moves it into a space with a lone unled American CU.

2. The American player announces and rolls for any interception, or declines to do so.

3. If an interception occurs, resolve the resulting battle normally.

4. If the interception attempt is not made or fails, the British player may then play the card and proceed as per the instructions.

7.0 When a Campaign card is played may a specific CU be moved by more than one general?

A. No.

7.2 When a Campaign card is played can a General attempt one intercept per enemy General moved?

A. No, as stated, each General gets one intercept attempt per Strategy card played. Therefore, when a Campaign card is played each General gets ONE intercept attempt total. For example if the British played a Major Campaign card and Washington made an intercept attempt against the first British General moved, he would not be allowed to make any further intercept attempts when the second and third Generals moved. It should be remembered that a General who attempts an intercept, whether successful or not, forfeits his ability to retreat before combat until the next Strategy card is played. In this example after George Washington attempted his intercept against the first British General he loses his ability to retreat before combat for the remainder of the British movements conducted during the Major Campaign card play.

7.2 Can multiple intercepts occur when a British army enters a space?

A. Yes, but the first successful intercept IMMEDIATELY causes a battle preventing any further intercept attempts from occurring. For example, if a British General entered a space with an American PC which was also adjacent to two American Generals, each in turn could attempt to intercept the British army, but if the first attempt were successful then a battle would immediately occur preventing the second General from attempting an interception. If the first attempt failed then the second attempt could occur and if successful the second American General would fight a battle.

7.2 If an intercepting American army loses the battle it caused, must it retreat back to the space that it originated from before the battle?

A. No, an interception places the intercepting American general in the space as if he were there prior to the British move. His retreat options are calculated as if he were in the space prior to the British attempt to enter it and the normal retreat options would prevail.

7.2 Can an American army intercept into a space that already contains another American army?

A. Yes, but one of the Generals must be removed prior to the battle. Remember, Washington is never the one removed.

7.2 If an American army attempts to intercept into a space that already contains another American army and fails, does this prevent the other American army from attempting a Retreat Before Combat?

A. No, because the intercept of one General doesn't prevent the other from attempting a Retreat Before Combat. However, if the intercept is successful then a Battle is immediately conducted preventing any further attempts at Retreat Before Combat.

7.2 If an American army fails to Retreat Before Combat, can another American army then attempt to intercept into the space?

A. No, because after a failed Retreat Before Combat a Battle is immediately conducted preventing any further attempts at interception.

7.2 Can an American General alone, intercept into a space containing American CU that are about to be attacked?

A. No, the interception pre-condition requires an army (i.e., a General and a CU), not a General alone.

7.2 Can an American General intercept into a space that a moving British army is entering, if besides the presence of an American PC marker there is also another British army?

A. No, an intercept assumes that the American army was in the space prior to the British move which the prior presence of a British army would preclude.

7.2 Does the American player receive an extra Battle Card for intercepting into a space already containing American CUs or only for a battle caused by a successful interception?

A. Yes, the act of interception gives the one card bonus whether the battle would or would not have happened without the interception.

8. Can reinforcements for both sides be placed in a space that only contains an enemy General, and if so is that General captured?

A. Yes and Yes.

9.1 When can the British get Battle Cards for the Navy in the Charleston, SC space?

A. The only time that the British get Battle Cards for the Navy in the Charleston, SC space is when they are the original defender in that space and there is a British PC marker present with no French navy.

9.2 Does a player have to cancel an attackers' Battle Card if he can or can he choose to play another card and lose the battle?

A. A player can play any card he desires, if the one played fails to cancel the attackers' Battle Card he loses the battle. The fact that the defender had the proper card to cancel the attack is immaterial.

9.2 Can a CU without a General perform a retreat?

A. Yes, a General is necessary for movement NOT retreat. Obviously, a general is required to attempt retreat BEFORE combat.

9.2 Can the British retreat from a Port that they are attacking into?

A. No, the British can only retreat from a Port space that they are defending. Furthermore the attack must always retreat back to the space from which they attacked.

9.2 Can the British attack from a port space into an adjacent space, lose the battle, which places them back in the original port space, and then retreat by sea to another port space?

A. No, they would fall back into the port space, but NOT into the port and then by sea somewhere else. The retreat by sea only occurs if you are in a port space not retreated into one.

9.2 Can the British retreat from a Port space that they are defending which has an American PC marker in it?

A. Yes, regardless of the presence (or absence) of a British or American PC marker, the British can retreat from the Port space (assuming the French navy isn't present). However, the space they retreat into must be either empty or have a British PC marker and in all cases neither space can contain the French navy.

10.1 The American player cannot use Ops cards to place PC when the Continental Congress is dispersed, but can the American still convert British PC due to the presence of a General when the Continental Congress is dispersed?

A. Yes. If the Continental Congress is dispersed, the American player can still use an OPS card to flip PCs (one or more as appropriate) in spaces where he has a General present.

10.1 If the Continental Line Mutiny Card is in play, can the American still convert British PC due to the presence of a General?

A. Yes. The effects of the Continental Line Mutiny Card in this regard are the same as dispersing the Congress. An OPS card can still be used to FLIP a PC in a space under one or more generals (as appropriate) and PCs may still be placed if mandated by the play of an EVENT card.

10.1 For purposes of playing a British PC marker or determining political isolation, would Falmouth be considered adjacent to Quebec and vice versa?

A. No, the Quebec-Falmouth line represents one of the greatest winter marches in all history. Its only use is to allow Benedict Arnold to have an historically important capability that offsets the fact that you can't trust him. It has no effect on any other game system other than those stated on the map and in the rules.

10.1 Can the British player place a PC marker during the strategy phase using an operations card in an area occupied by a British Army but not adjacent to an already existing British PC?

A. No.

10.1 Can the British player flip a PC marker during the strategy phase using an operations card in an area occupied by a British Army but not adjacent to an already existing British PC?

A. Yes.

10.1 Can the British player place a PC marker during the strategy phase using an operations card in an area occupied by an American General without CUs that is adjacent to an already existing British PC?

A. Yes.

10.2 Can the British player place or flip a PC marker in areas occupied by a British Army during the political control phase, regardless of whether the army is adjacent to an existing British PC?

A. Yes.

10.2 Can the American player place or flip a PC marker in an area occupied only by an American General without CUs during the political control phase?

A. No.

10.2 Can American PC markers be considered un-isolated if they can trace through other American PCs to a British PC space that contains an American CU or general?

A. In all cases the American CU or general piece must be in an empty or American PC space. It cannot be in a British PC space to fulfill the requirement. The same concept would go for the British army.

10.2 If a British PC is located in a port blockaded by the French Navy, can it trace to an adjacent neutral space or army to avoid isolation?

A. Yes.

10.2 For purposes of tracing for isolation, is a space containing an enemy CU but not an enemy PC considered "empty"?

A. No, it is not considered "empty" as that term is used in 10.2. Nor is it considered "empty" when occupied by an American general without any CUs. However, such a space IS considered "empty" if it is occupied by a British general without any CUs.

11 NEW RULE: Single CUs are no longer immune to Winter Attrition. During the Winter Attrition Phase, the owning player must make an attrition die roll for all non-winter quarters spaces north of the Winter Attrition Line containing a single CU with no general. On a die roll of 1-3 there is no effect. On a die roll of 4-6 the CU is eliminated. For purposes of this tournament a player may make these attrition rolls for his opponent in order to save time.

12 Does control of Detroit and either Quebec and Montreal give that player control of Canada?

A. No, in order to control Canada a player must possess both Montreal and Quebec. The value of controlling Detroit is that it counts when determining who has more PC markers in Canada for militia purposes.

12 In cases of PC marker total ties the American player controls a colony for victory purposes at the end of the game. If Detroit has no PC marker in it and the Americans control either Montreal or Quebec and the British control the other does the American player control Canada due to the PC total tie?

A. No, Canada isn't a colony, as stated, the American player needs to control both Quebec and Montreal in order to count Canada for Victory purposes. In cases where the American player controls either Quebec and Montreal without the other then the British control Canada by default.

"I'm completely in favor of the separation of Church and State. My idea is that these two institutions screw us up enough on their own, so both of them together is certain death."  George Carlin