Arc-en-ciel

Cette simulation décrit le phénomène de réflection de la lumière dans une goutte d'eau sphérique. Ce phénomène est à l'origine des arc-en-ciel. Un arc-en-ciel peut être décrit comme une réflection du soleil sans les gouttelettes d'eau en suspension dans l'atmosphère.

La raison pour laquelle les couleurs contenues dans la lumière incidente est que la lumière est réfléchie contre la face arrière de la goutte, de telle façon que la lumière est dispersée deux fois: la première en entrant la goutte, la deuxième en sortant de la goutte.

Ainsi qu'il est indiqué dans la plupart des livres d'introduction à la physique, le phénomène de dispersion est du à la dépendance de l'indexe de réfraction sur la couleur, mais dans le cas de l'arc-en-ciel, la direction de la lumière réfléchie dépend aussi du paramètre d'impact. Les couleurs sont réfléchies à l'intérieur d'un cône dont l'axe est parallèle a la lumière incidente.

Du fait de la géométrie de ce problème, la déviation totale en fonction du paramètre d'impact a un maximum de déviation. C'est à ce maximum de déviation que l'intensité lumineuse est maximum et que l'arc-en-ciel se forme.

Le diagramme suivant montre la géométrie de la réflection dans une goutte. Notez que les angle alpha et beta obéissent à la loi de Descartes, que les triangles ABO et BCO sont deux triangles isocèles identiques, et que la déviation totale est 180 - 2 alpha + 4 beta.

ray tracing diagram

La déviation totale est:
Equation
ou:
Equation
Le maximum de déviation a lieu quand:
Equation
Ce qui donne:
Equation

Rainbows Physics

This applet describes The reflection of light in a spherical water drop. This phenomenon is what allows rainbows to form. Rainbows can be described as a distorted reflection of the Sun in water droplets in suspension in the atmosphere.

The reason why the different colors mixed in the incident Sun light are dispersed is that the light is reflected against the back of the drop, so that the light is refracted twice: one time when it enters the drop, a second time when it exits the drop.

Most introductory physics textbook correctly point out that dispersion of light is due to the color dependence of the index of diffraction, but fail to mention that, in this context, the direction of the reflected light also depends on the impact parameter. All colors are actually reflected inside, not on, a cone whose axis is parallel to the incoming light.

Because of the physics of reflection and refraction of light, and because of the geometry involved in the reflection in a sphere, there is a extremum in the variation of the total deflection angle as a function of the impact parameter. It is at this color-dependent angle that light intensity will build up and give rise to rainbows.

The following diagram shows the geometry of reflection in a sphere. Note that angles alpha and beta are related by Snell’s law, that triangles ABO and BCO are two congruent isosceles triangles, and that the angle between incident and reflected rays is 180 - 2 alpha + 4 beta.

ray tracing diagram

The total deviation is expressed mathematically by:
Equation
or:
Equation
The extremum of deviation will happen when:
Equation
Which can be solved:
Equation