The content of
this course has been approved by the State of Utah for the Utah CCW Permit and it is not an NRA course.
This course also meets the training requirements of a handgun safety course for the Virginia CCW Permit
when taught by a certified instructor.
Taken with a live-fire
range session, this course also meets the training requirements for the Florida CCW Permit as well as the CCW permits issued
by several other states. Students must demonstrate proficiency in the safe handling
of their handgun during controlled exercises at class and sign a detailed statement as to their prior handgun shooting experience.
Depending on which
permit class we are teaching, our CCW courses cover the relevant Florida, Virginia,
and/or Utah statutes. Students will receive a copy of the
appropriate statutes as part of the course outline. This should give you a clue as to the depth of our course.
Please note that no
legal advice will be given in the course nor is any portion of the course outline or this website to be taken as legal advice
which it is not.
State laws may
change at any time and it is the responsibility of the student/permit holder to locate and read all relevant state and local
laws in their home state, as well as for all other states in which they may carry a concealed handgun and before doing
Utah Concealed Firearm Permit
Covers 28 states or 33 states for Utah
Issued: Residents of any state & legal resident aliens
Turn around Time: 60-70 days
Valid for 5 years
Renewals: Every 5 years
Requires: No subsequent classes for renewals
Other: Names of permit holders are confidential
The Utah Concealed Weapon Permit
is issued by the State of Utah and is therefore in a standardized
format. The Utah permit only authorizes the concealed carry of a handgun even though it uses
the term weapon and this also applies to out of state permits used in Utah.
The states of Florida, Michigan
and New Hampshire will accept the Utah permit only when
presented by a resident of Utah. Thus, when carried by a
non-resident of Utah, the Utah permit is valid in 28 states
instead of the 31 states for Utah residents Utah is more strict with respect to the applicant's background
and a conviction for any of the following either will or may result in a denial of the permit application:
Crime of violence
alcohol in the last 5 years
unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances (some misdemeanors > 15 years old may be okay)
The Florida CCW
The Florida CCW permit is as a good permit that is available to
both residents and non-residents. However, it is twice the cost of the Utah
permit and more than 10 times as much to renew every five years. It remains a good permit but not necessarily as good a value
as the Utah permit.
Covers: 28 states
or 33 states for Florida residents*
of any state
Turn around time: up
to 90 days
Valid: Florida Concealed
Weapon or Firearm Licenses issued on or after Wednesday, June 11, 2008, are valid for a period of seven years. If you hold a valid Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License issued prior to June
11, 2008, that license is valid for only five years.
Live-fire required for all applicants
Other: Names of permit
holders are public record
The Florida Concealed Weapon Permit is issued by the State of Florida and is therefore in a standardized format. The Florida
permit authorizes the concealed carry of a handgun as well as other weapons such as knives, saps, chemical sprays, etc. in
Florida only. In other states that accept the Florida permit, carry is almost always limited to a handgun.